challenges

Couch to 5K: Day before!

I want to be: Athletic.

10689628_10202606528226352_4249636566883518745_n
A rare picture of me doing something athletic after middle school (Dash for Diversity, Buffalo, NY 2014)

After my freshman year of college I was 100% over the gym, outdoor physical activity, and contact sports. I had realized fully the joys of closing the blinds, making alfredo, and binge watching The Fosters with my girlfriend.

I’m a night owl. I prefer to go to bed as the sun rises and wake up a few hours before it sets. Most of my homework and house work get done between the hours of 8 PM and 5 AM.

Rewind to 6th grade and my favorite time of day was gym class in which we ran the mile, played soccer and basketball, and did strange little “educational” work-out tapes. I loved to get home and play outside with my sister and all our neighborhood friends.

At that age, I constantly dreamed of getting to high school and joining the track team. If you ask my parents, I would use our small backyard fence, small bushes, even the pouffe in our living room as a hurdle. I couldn’t wait!

34213_143912212289942_4881281_n
Me and my little sister playing in my Aunt’s carport

But… then we moved to the U.S. and my dad got deployed and I only had a month before starting high school. I was young, homesick, missed my dad, and was dreading starting at a new school. The track team and my dream of jumping over metal frames was the farthest thing from my mind.

From the start of this post, you can probably deduce that I never joined any sports team and became one of the least physically active people I know. But now that I’m not that angst-ridden 14-year-old I want to run and get sweaty and enjoy what I’m privileged to be able to do with my body.

f6d9123ab8650a0c9df6658bfabff39e
Found on Pintrest (if you know who it belongs to PLEASE let me know)

So, I’m sure you’ve heard of the Couch to 5K challenge. It has become very popular on Pintrest, which is where I found the details. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s basically a 9-week exercise schedule that starts off easy and gradually adds on time, until you are ready (presumably) to run a 5K.

The goal is to start tomorrow (01 March 2017)! I’ll let y’all know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

